Crete, Samos among 26 EU islands headed for clean energy move

The European Commission is supporting the clean energy transition of 26 islands in a move aimed at helping them create their own sustainable low cost power.

"The clean energy transition can help islands not only become more self-sufficient and prosperous, but also unlock new employment opportunities in their communities," said the commission in a statement.

In a first phase, 6 islands, the Aran Islands (Ireland) Cres-Lošinj (Croatia), Sifnos (Greece), Culatra (Portugal), Salina (Italy) and La Palma (Spain) will develop and publish their clean energy transition agendas by summer 2019. The other 20 islands will do so by summer 2020. These islands are:

  • Hvar, Croatia

  • Brač, Croatia

  • Korčula, Croatia

  • Kökar, Finland

  • Marie-Galante, France

  • New Caledonia, France

  • Crete, Greece

  • Samos, Greece

  • Cape Clear, Ireland

  • Favignana, Italy

  • Pantelleria, Italy

  • Azores, Portugal

  • Ibiza, Spain

  • Mallorca, Spain

  • Menorca, Spain

  • A Illa de Arousa, Spain

  • Gotland, Sweden

  • Öland, Sweden

  • Orkney, UK

  • Scottish Islands, UK

There are more than 2,200 inhabited islands in the EU. Despite having an abundance of renewable sources of energy, such as wind, solar and wave energy, many of them currently depend on expensive fossil fuel imports for their energy supply, the commission added.

The 26 islands were selected based on their potential for establishing a high-quality transition process with the support of the EU.

Do you want to increase the exposure of your business? Looking to boost your credibility?

The team at can help you meet your goals! This is what they do:

Media Relations | Content writing